




Niseko, Hokkaido · Things to do
Things to Do in Niseko: 11 Places Across Four Ski Areas, Onsen and the Green Season
11 things to do · checked October 20, 2026
11 things to do in Niseko: four ski areas first, then everything else
Hours, prices and access checked against each place's own page on October 20, 2026. They change; check before you go.
1Grand HIRAFUニセコ東急グラン・ヒラフ
Ski area · Hirafu
The largest of the four Niseko United resorts, with hotels, condos, shops and restaurants at its base. The resort lists two gondolas and seven lifts serving 22 trails, a 940 m vertical drop (base 260 m, summit 1,200 m) and a longest run of 5,300 m.
- Access
- Sapporo Station to Niseko Hirafu by ski bus took 3 hr 6 min in 2025–26 (adult ¥6,000 one way); the 2026–27 timetable is due around October. The NISEKO UNITED Shuttle Bus links the four resorts.
- Hours
- Season 28 November 2026 – 5 May 2027 (tentative; depends on snow). Night skiing 12 December 2026 – 22 March 2027 (tentative).
- Price
- All Mountain Pass, 1 day, adult: ¥8,800 early and spring season, ¥12,600 regular, ¥13,500 peak (24 Dec – 28 Feb)
2Niseko Hanazono ResortニセコHANAZONOリゾート
Ski area · Hanazono
A Niseko United resort with beginner learning areas, terrain parks and tree runs, a resort centre called HANAZONO 308, and a Tube Park that now runs night snow tubing with lit slopes. Its Symphony Gondola is listed as 1,297 m long, 5 minutes, 4 persons.
- Access
- Reached from the other three resorts by the NISEKO UNITED Shuttle Bus (lift-pass holders ride on the pass; others pay the fare shown on the bus).
- Hours
- Season 28 November 2026 – 11 April 2027 (tentative). Night skiing 12 December 2026 – 22 March 2027 (tentative).
- Price
- All Mountain Pass, 1 day, adult: ¥8,800 early and spring season, ¥12,600 regular, ¥13,500 peak (24 Dec – 28 Feb)
3Niseko Villageニセコビレッジ
Ski area · Niseko Village
A Niseko United resort known for off-piste powder and long trails through forest, with a family focus; the Hilton Niseko Village and Green Leaf Niseko Village are at its base. The Mori-no Gondola, replacing the Mori-no Chair double lift, is scheduled to open its first phase (to 670 m) for the 2026/27 winter.
- Access
- Reached from the other three resorts by the NISEKO UNITED Shuttle Bus (lift-pass holders ride on the pass; others pay the fare shown on the bus).
- Hours
- Season 28 November 2026 – 4 April 2027 (tentative). Night skiing 12 December 2026 – 22 March 2027 (tentative).
- Price
- All Mountain Pass, 1 day, adult: ¥8,800 early and spring season, ¥12,600 regular, ¥13,500 peak (24 Dec – 28 Feb)
4Niseko Annupuriニセコアンヌプリ
Ski area · Annupuri
A Niseko United resort for skiers and snowboarders of all abilities, with powder and groomed runs, views from the slopes and a base area with natural onsens. Its main gondola, in service since 1985, is to be replaced ahead of the 2028/29 season.
- Access
- Reached from the other three resorts by the NISEKO UNITED Shuttle Bus (lift-pass holders ride on the pass; others pay the fare shown on the bus). By car from Sapporo, about 105 km via Route 230.
- Hours
- Season 28 November 2026 – 5 May 2027 (tentative; the resort's own site shows 28 November as undecided). Night skiing 12 December 2026 – 22 March 2027 (tentative).
- Price
- All Mountain Pass, 1 day, adult: ¥8,800 early and spring season, ¥12,600 regular, ¥13,500 peak (24 Dec – 28 Feb)
5Hirafu villageひらふ
Resort village · Hirafu
The village at the foot of Grand HIRAFU, where the resort sits at the crossroads of the resort and the town, with cafés, bars and izakaya within easy reach. In the green season it hosts the Hirafu Opening Festa, a Summer Marche and the Hirafu Festival (2026: 4–5 July, August Marche days, 28–29 August).
- Access
- Niseko Hirafu ski-bus stop: from JR Sapporo Station North Gate 3 hr 6 min on the 7:50 bus in 2025–26 (adult ¥6,000 one way, ¥10,000 return). Trains run Sapporo – Otaru (about 32 min) then Otaru – Niseko (about 90 min).

6Mt. Yotei羊蹄山
Volcano and hiking route · Kutchan
A cone-shaped stratovolcano of 1,898 m, also called Ezo-Fuji, the highest peak in south-west Hokkaido and the backdrop to the Niseko resorts. Kutchan town describes the summer climb as mid-to-advanced, about 10 hours round trip, to be done in a day; alpine flowers peak from early July to early August.
Check the Kutchan town notices before any climb: bear sightings were posted for two routes in 2026.
- Access
- Routes named by Kutchan town are Makkari, Hirafu and Kyogoku; trailheads are on the town's Yotei page. Winter climbing needs a climbing plan filed in advance and an avalanche beacon, and going alone is discouraged. Brown bear sightings were posted for the Kyogoku (29 June 2026) and Hirafu (27 July 2026) courses; the warden at the 9th-station shelter left in mid-October 2026.
7Niseko Goshiki Onsenニセコ五色温泉旅館
Hot spring inn (day-use bath) · Rankoshi, off the Niseko Panorama Line
A mountain hot spring inn with a main bath (two indoor pools and a wide outdoor bath), a larch-wood bath and an open-air bath. Day visitors are accepted; last entry is 19:00 in both seasons.
- Access
- About 30 minutes by car or taxi from JR Kutchan Station, about 50 minutes by taxi in winter. In summer drive in by Route 58; in winter Route 58 is closed and the way in is the Niseko Panorama Line. Inn: 0136-58-2707.
- Hours
- May–October 9:00–20:00; November–April 10:00–20:00 (last entry 19:00 in both)
- Price
- Adult ¥800 (Niseko Resort Tourism Association listing; the inn’s own price table is an image)
8Milk Kobo (Niseko Takahashi Dairy Farm)ミルク工房(ニセコ高橋牧場)
Dairy shop · Niseko town (Soga)
The shop of the Niseko Takahashi Dairy Farm, which also runs the Prativo restaurant, Mandriano and Cacao Crown; gift sets can be ordered through its online shop. The farm marks its 30th anniversary in 2027.
- Access
- From JR Niseko Station about 10 minutes by taxi. By car: Sapporo about 2 hours (110 km, Route 230), Otaru about 1.5 hours (60 km, Route 5), New Chitose Airport about 2 hours (110 km, Route 276). Parking: 30 spaces at the first lot, 40 at the restaurant lot. 0136-44-3734.
- Hours
- 9:30–18:00; winter 10:00–17:30 (the site does not state when winter hours start)
9Rafting from Grand HIRAFUニセコ ラフティング
River rafting · Hirafu
Standard rafting runs two tours a day (9:30–13:00 and 13:30–17:00) from the minimum age of 6; a shorter Family Rafting on a calm section of the Shiribetsu River ran 1 July – 31 August 2026. Hanazono also lists rafting through summer and autumn.
April to early November. The 2026 season ends on 3 November.
- Access
- Meeting point not stated on the page; arrive at least 20 minutes before each tour. Grand HIRAFU: 0136-22-0109.
- Hours
- 2026 season 4 April – 3 November (2027 dates not yet published)
- Price
- Standard: adults (13+) ¥6,980, ages 6–12 ¥4,890. Family Rafting: adults ¥5,980, ages 6–12 ¥3,500, ages 3–5 ¥2,300
10Summer gondola rides夏のゴンドラ
Gondola and viewpoint · Grand HIRAFU, Hanazono and Annupuri
Three resorts run their gondolas in the green season: the Grand HIRAFU Ace Gondola to the 813 m summit and Yotei Sky Field, the Hanazono Summer Gondola from 308 m to 658 m, and the Annupuri Summer Gondola to the 1,000 m level. All three had finished for 2026 by 20 October; 2027 dates are not yet published.
Summer only. The 2026 operations are over; 2027 dates are not yet published.
- Access
- At each resort's own gondola station. In 2026 the Ace Gondola ran 4 July – 30 August plus weekends and national holidays in September; Yotei Sky Field at its summit is free of charge and was open 8:30–16:00.
- Hours
- 2026: Ace Gondola 4 Jul – 30 Aug and September weekends and holidays; Hanazono and Annupuri summer gondolas ended 12 October
11Kutchan town倶知安町
Town · Kutchan
One of the three towns of the Niseko region with Niseko and Rankoshi. Kutchan lists Mt. Yotei, Kagaminuma, Hangetsuko Lakeside Natural Park, shibazakura and autumn colour on Mt. Iwaonupuri among its sights, two museums (Kutchan Fudokan and the Ogawara Osamu Memorial Art Museum), the Kutchan Jaga potato festival and the winter Yukitopia Festival.
- Access
- JR Kutchan Station: from Sapporo about 150 min by train via Otaru, Otaru – Kutchan about 90 min local, New Chitose Airport about 180 min. Bus: Sapporo – Kutchan via Otaru about 150 min (Hokkaido Chuo Bus, Niseko Bus). Station: 0136-22-1310.
Good to know
Niseko is four ski areas on one mountain, Grand HIRAFU, Niseko Village, Hanazono and Annupuri, which Niseko United links with one All Mountain Pass. For 2026–27 the season is planned for 28 November 2026 to 5 May 2027 at Grand HIRAFU and Annupuri, to 11 April at Hanazono and to 4 April at Niseko Village, with night skiing from 12 December to 22 March. All dates are tentative and depend on snow.
Off the snow, the list is Mt. Yotei (1,898 m), Hirafu village for cafés, bars and izakaya, Goshiki Onsen for a day-use bath, and the Milk Kobo dairy shop in Niseko town. In the green season there is rafting (the 2026 season runs to 3 November) and the summer gondolas, which had all finished for 2026 by 20 October. Kutchan is the JR station town on the way in.
Changes this winter: the Mori-no Gondola at Niseko Village opens its first phase (to 670 m), and Grand HIRAFU turns the Ace #3 lift from a two-seater into a four-person chairlift. The Annupuri gondola, in service since 1985, is to be replaced ahead of 2028/29. The 2026–27 ski-bus timetable is expected around October; the bus times on this page are from 2025–26.
In depth
The four Niseko United ski areas, 2026–27
Season dates are Niseko United’s tentative dates. Night skiing is listed once for the whole area, 12 December 2026 to 22 March 2027. One All Mountain Pass covers all four.
| Ski area | Season (tentative) | Lifts and what changes this winter | At the base |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grand HIRAFU | 28 Nov 2026 – 5 May 2027 | Ace Gondola and King Gondola; Ace #3 becomes a four-person chairlift (1,029 to 2,400 riders an hour) | Hirafu village: cafés, bars, izakaya, hotels, condos |
| Hanazono | 28 Nov 2026 – 11 Apr 2027 | Symphony Gondola (5 min, 4 persons); terrain parks and tree runs | HANAZONO 308 resort centre; Tube Park with night snow tubing |
| Niseko Village | 28 Nov 2026 – 4 Apr 2027 | Mori-no Gondola phase 1 (to 670 m) opens; phase 2 (to about 930 m) expected in 2027 | Hilton Niseko Village and Green Leaf Niseko Village |
| Annupuri | 28 Nov 2026 – 5 May 2027 | Annupuri Gondola (since 1985) still runs; replacement ahead of 2028/29 | Natural onsens at the base area |
By kind of trip
First ski trip, one pass for all four areas
The All Mountain Pass covers all four resorts, and lift-pass holders ride the NISEKO UNITED Shuttle Bus between them. One day for an adult costs ¥13,500 in peak season (24 December – 28 February), ¥12,600 in regular season and ¥8,800 in early and spring season.
Grand HIRAFU · Hirafu village · Niseko Village · Niseko Annupuri
Skiing late in the season
Grand HIRAFU and Annupuri are planned to run to 5 May 2027, Hanazono to 11 April and Niseko Village to 4 April. Niseko United lists 5 April to 5 May as the Final Season; its pass price is not published yet.
Grand HIRAFU · Niseko Annupuri · Niseko Hanazono Resort · Niseko Village
Hot springs
Goshiki Onsen takes day visitors (last entry 19:00). Annupuri has natural onsens at its base. The Hilton Niseko Village and Niseko Northern Resort Annupuri baths are listed as guests only.
Not skiing, in winter
Hanazono’s Tube Park runs night snow tubing. Milk Kobo opens 10:00–17:30 in winter, and Goshiki Onsen opens 10:00–20:00 from November to April; in winter Route 58 to the inn is closed and the way in is the Niseko Panorama Line.
Niseko Hanazono Resort · Milk Kobo (Niseko Takahashi Dairy Farm) · Niseko Goshiki Onsen · Kutchan town
Green season, April to November
Rafting runs 4 April – 3 November in 2026 and the summer gondolas ran July to September. Mt. Yotei is a roughly 10-hour round trip in summer. Hirafu hosts its festival and Marche in August.
Rafting from Grand HIRAFU · Summer gondola rides · Mt. Yotei · Hirafu village
Questions
When does the 2026–27 ski season start and end in Niseko?
Niseko United plans 28 November 2026 to 5 May 2027 at Annupuri and Grand HIRAFU, to 4 April 2027 at Niseko Village and to 11 April 2027 at Hanazono. Night skiing is planned for 12 December 2026 to 22 March 2027. The dates are tentative and depend on snow; Annupuri’s own site still shows 28 November as undecided.
How much is an All Mountain Pass?
For one adult day: ¥13,500 in peak season (24 December 2026 – 28 February 2027), ¥12,600 in regular season (12–23 December and 1–22 March) and ¥8,800 in early and spring season. Seven days costs ¥91,500 in peak, ¥85,200 in regular and ¥59,600 in early and spring season. Early-season passes (28 November – 11 December) are not sold online.
How do I get to Niseko from Sapporo?
By train, Sapporo to Otaru takes about 32 minutes and Otaru to Niseko about 90 minutes. By ski bus in 2025–26, the 7:50 from JR Sapporo Station North Gate reached Niseko Hirafu at 10:56 (adult ¥6,000 one way, ¥10,000 return); the 2026–27 timetable is expected around October. Kutchan town gives about 150 minutes by train or bus from Sapporo to Kutchan.
What is there to do in Niseko in summer?
Rafting from Grand HIRAFU runs 4 April – 3 November 2026 (adults ¥6,980 for the standard tour, minimum age 6). The summer gondolas at Grand HIRAFU, Hanazono and Annupuri have all closed for 2026. Mt. Yotei can be climbed in summer in about 10 hours round trip. 2027 dates are not yet published.
Can I use a hot spring in Niseko without staying overnight?
Yes, at several. Goshiki Onsen takes day visitors at ¥800 for adults (9:00–20:00 May–October, 10:00–20:00 November–April, last entry 19:00). The Niseko Resort Tourism Association also lists day-use baths at Niseko Annupuri Onsen Yushintei (adult ¥1,800 in December–February) and Hotel Kanro no Mori (adult ¥1,800). The Hilton Niseko Village and Niseko Northern Resort Annupuri baths are for guests only.
